Huawei P Smart 2019 Review | Full Phone Specifications, Camera, Performance, Price and Conclusion

Introduction

Hello Folks! Today I’m going to take a look at the Huawei P Smart 2019 review. The phone calls just about 250 Euros, but it offers quite a few premium features including nice design pretty good specifications and dual camera setup as always. Let’s take a look at all the Pros and Cons of this device and see if it is worth the price.

The Phone ships with all the usual stuff and some extras include a pair of earphones.

 

Design

Huawei P Smart 2019 Review | Full Phone Specifications, Camera, Performance, Price and Conclusion

The design of the new P Smart is one of the highlights of this phone the Aurora blue colour looks just gorgeous. But if you want to keep the phone look nice, you will always need to clean the fingerprints and smudges as the glossy surface attracts them very quickly.

The phone uses the so-called 3D curved unibody design meaning that there is no gap between the frame and the backplate. Honestly, it looks nice, and I wish more phones were made like this. The phone does not look or feel cheap by any means. The buttons are nice, and the overall build quality is excellent.

There is also a hybrid dual SIM and a microSD card slot and a micro USB port for charging while we still things budget-minded users prefer micro USB over the USB type-c.

 

Display

Huawei P Smart 2019 Review | Full Phone Specifications, Camera, Performance, Price and Conclusion

The display has tiny chassis notch, and the overall quality of the panel is excellent. The screen is sharp, the colours are reasonably accurate, and I had no issues seeing the screen outdoors.

Other key features of the Huawei P Smart including nice yet very tiny notification LED light that is implemented on the bottom of the phone.

Biometrics & Security: –

I found a fingerprint scanner to be excellent, but if you don’t like it, you can use the face unlock feature that I also found to be passed and reliable most of the time.

Audio: –

I found the headphone jack to provide pretty good sound quality. We have only one speaker that is implemented on the bottom of the device. On the other hand, the sound quality is good for budget phones.

 

Camera

Huawei P Smart 2019 Review | Full Phone Specifications, Camera, Performance, Price and Conclusion

The dual camera system by the AI engine well if we’re talking about Huawei AI must be somewhere right. On the front, we have an 8-megapixel shooter.

Daylight image quality is very good, and it is one of the best in the budget phone segment. I took quite a few images side by side in Auto and AI mode. In my eyes, the AI helps capture more dynamic range and bit punchier colours, but sometimes it fails to adjust the white balance. I also found in some pictures with loss of brightness, heavy bluish tint.

On the other hand, most of the shots look nice as the pictures have plenty of detail, colours are reasonably accurate, and even the dynamic range adjustment is proper.

Portrait & Low-Light: –

Portrait and Aperture modes can take good pictures as the subject or object is usually nicely separated from the background. However, if you tend to take photos with the blurred background in the dark and lit environment expect a bit softer images.

Low-light image quality is very good for your budget device. There is also a dedicated night mode that brings more detail, but there is also a bit more noise in the images. While pictures taken using this mode may look cool on the phone screen. I prefer an Auto mode that makes pretty good low-light photos with less noise.

Selfie: –

Selfie usually look nice and sharp. Selfie portrait mode does a pretty good job separating the subject from the background, but there are a few artefacts in some of the pictures. If you take selfies in low-light, the result may not always impress you, but the images are still usable.

1080p video quality is very good for a budget device as there is a right amount of detail and the colours are nice. The phone can also shoot videos in 1080p at 60 frames per second, and the quality of the footage is quite good but the video is, and the footage is noticeably softer.

Both 1080p selfie video and sound recording quality are pretty good.

 

Performance

The Huawei P Smart ships with good specs for a budget device but I wish it had 4 gigabytes of RAM instead of just 3GB RAM. Gaming performance is just great considering the price of the phone. Games like Asphalt Extreme or Shadow fight 3 run fine on the budget graphics settings which are impressive.

Even the PUBG runs fine on medium graphics settings meaning you will enjoy this favourite game without paying a premium for a flagship smartphone. Overall, I’m quite impressed with the gaming performance of the Huawei P Smart.

 

Software

The Phone runs on the latest Android 9.0 Pie out of the box but we have EMUI built on top of it that means you get a user interface that is packed with features and customisation options. Huawei brags about the blue light filter in this phone which is not a new feature by any means, but now you know its here.

You also get quite a few customisation options, smart features and settings that allow you to customise your phone just like on every Huawei smartphone you can change the looks by selecting from a few different themes and so on.

Initially, I was worried about the fact that the phone had just 3 gigabytes of RAM, but after using that P Smart for quite some time, I can assure it’s a pretty fast device overall. I didn’t have any lag or stutter, and the phone feels fast all the time.

Connectivity

Connectivity wise, the Huawei P Smart is excellent. I had no issues with call quality or signal reception GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth work fine. The phone also has quite a few sensors on board including the Gyroscope.

Finally, there is a fully functioning NFC even though the official page indicates there are no such features that mean that the presence of NFC depends on the market.

Battery

The Huawei P Smart comes with 3400 milliamp-hours battery. The battery life has been great thanks to a generous capacity and Huawei power’s management. My record screen on time is over 10 hours which is an impressive result. If you use the phone more intensively, you should still expect to get about 8 hours of SOT. Charging time is about 2 hours with a supplied charger.

Pros & Cons

Huawei P Smart 2019 Review | Full Phone Specifications, Camera, Performance, Price and Conclusion

Cons-

The Huawei P Smart is a very impressive budget smartphone, but there are a few cons you need to know before buying. The main shortcoming the phone uses the micro USB port instead of the USB type-C. I also wish the phone had 4 gigabytes of RAM instead of just 3, but that’s just nitpicking because the day-to-day performance of the phone is excellent.

Pros-

Now the Pros and there are many, for the price of about 250 Euros you get a premium looking phone with a beautiful unibody shell, sharp display. The phone is fast and responsive, it can easily handle 3D games, the cameras are one of the best in class, and the battery life is excellent.

If you add some basics yet useful features like a microSD card slot, a notification LED light, a headphone jack, a fast and reliable fingerprint scanner and face unlock features, you’re looking a solid budget smartphone.

Conclusion

At the end of the discussion, the Huawei P Smart 2019 edition has just a few cons to consider, but overall this is easily one of the best budget smartphones of 2019. The Huawei nailed it this time, and I can highly recommend that be smart if you’re looking for an excellent budget phone.

 

Price

 

Indian Buyers Buy Now Price
Huawei P Smart 2019 Coming Soon Rs. 18,000
International Buyers
Huawei P Smart 2019 Coming Soon $ 285.00

SPECs

NETWORK

&

LAUNCH

Technology GSM / LTE / HSPA
SIM Hybrid Dual SIM (Nano)
Released 2018, December
BODY Dimensions 155.2mm x 73.4mm x 8 mm
Weight 160 grams
DISPLAY Type LTPS IPS LCD, 1080x2340p, 19.5:9 ratio (~415 PPI density)
Size 6.21-inches
Protection __
CAMERA Rear 13 MP, f/1.8, PDAF
2 MP, depth sensor
Front 16 MP or 8 MP, f/2.0
Video 1080p@30/60fps
Features LED flash, HDR, panorama
PROCESSOR OS EMUI 9, Android 9.0 Pie
Chip Hisilicon Kirin 710
CPU Octa-Core Up to 2.2GHz
GPU Mali-G51 MP4
MEMORY Internal 32/64 GB, 3 GB RAM
External microSD, up to 512 GB (uses SIM 2 slot)
FEATURES Sensors Fingerprint (rear-mounted), accelerometer, proximity, compass
CONNECTIVITY WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n/ac, dual-band, WiFi Direct, hotspot
USB micro USB 2.0
Others Bluetooth v4.2, GPS, NFC & Radio Available
SOUND Speaker Loudspeaker and 3.5mm Headphone Jack
Active noise cancellation with dedicated mic
BATTERY Li-Ion 3400 mAh

 

One thought on “Huawei P Smart 2019 Review | Full Phone Specifications, Camera, Performance, Price and Conclusion

Comments are closed.