Dell XPS 13 2017 Review, Full Specifications, Best Price, and Conclusion
Dell

Dell XPS 13 2017 Review, Full Specifications, Best Price, and Conclusion

Dell XPS 13 2017

Introduction: –

Hello, Friends! Today I’m going to take a look at Dell XPS 13 2017 review. Dell has long touted their XPS 13 is kind of the Gold Standard for Ultrabooks. It’s not gonna win over the hearts of mobile gamers or video editors but for everyone else looking for a sleek laptop that packs a punch. I’m using the thing for about one month I have to say, I think the XPS 13 2017 is my favourite Ultrabook that you can buy on the market right now. Why you have to buy this Ultrabook, let’s find out-

 

Design & Build: –

Dell XPS 13 2017 Design Review
Image Screenshot- http://www.dell.com/in/p/xps-13-9360-laptop

The design is the important part of any laptop but I think that Dell really did a great job with the design of the XPS 13. It’s made out of an all-metal aluminium chassis. It feels very premium, lightweight in the hands and they said that they were able to fir a 13-inch screen and what would normally be an 11-inch laptop form factor. They were able to do that though it did leave the laptop a little chunky not very fat. It’s definitely not the thinnest one. As much as I love the design of the XPS 13 I’m not a fan of how hard it is to get this thing open.

The build quality has not changed, and that’s a good thing. It’s actually very tanky for its size and weight, but I’m getting bored of its design. It’s not a bad design. It’s not ugly or anything. That’s just we’ve seeing this for almost three years at this point. And I really wish they would at least change the colour.

On the front is just a charging light which means that opening this thing is really a two-hand operation.

 

Display: –

Dell XPS 13 2017 display Review
Image Screenshot- http://www.dell.com/in/p/xps-13-9360-laptop

Dell really prides themselves on the whole XPS line are having these Super thin almost bezel-less infinity edge displays and the XPS 13 really does look fantastic. It still running a great screen. It comes with two options for the screen a 1080p panel and a Quad HD panel. You can’t go wrong either of them, they’re both very good. Thin bezels, they call them InfinityEdge displays and because the bezels are so thin the experience when you’re looking at these screens is really immersive. There’s just very little material on the edges to distract you from what you’re watching or what you’re doing.

The screen, I’m using the 1080p panel. It’s not the touchscreen, but that’s just a personal preference I don’t really like using touch screens on laptops. I know a lot of people do but the one thing that XPS laptops are really good at is the touchscreen thing. It’s not that the screen is more sensitive it’s because of the hinge so, the XPS lineup, the 13 and the 15 has a very stiff hinge.

The stiff hinge has a huge benefit when it comes to touch screens because when you’re poking at it. There’s just very little wobble when you’re tapping at the screen and a lot of laptops have loose hinges that are nice to open, easy to open but once you start touching them it’s really wobbly and that’s a bummer, but this one they do it well.

 

Webcam: –

Dell moves the Webcam that typically sits at the top display down to the bottom left-hand side. What isn’t a big deal for me but anyone who does a lot of video conferencing or Skype calls it’s probably in the most unflattering position possible.

 

Keyboard: –

Dell XPS 13 2017 Keyboard & Touchpad
Image Screenshot- http://www.dell.com/in/p/xps-13-9360-laptop

Th keyboard is also unchanged, it’s got backlighting. The layout is good and most people will quickly adapt this keyboard and enjoy it. It’s not the most comfortable or the best keyboard out there, it’s actually very average for an Ultrabook, but it is good, and if you use it for long enough you’ll learn to type really quickly on it. For the most part, it has good key spacing. It’s got some pretty decent key travel through at times. The keyboard just felt a little mushy for my liking

Trackpad: –

The trackpad is also unchanged it’s a little small, but it’s running Windows Precision drivers right out of the box. So, tracking is good, gestures work perfectly. It’s really good trackpad overall.

 

Ports & Slots: –

Dell XPS 13 2017 Slots & Ports
Image Screenshot- http://www.dell.com/in/p/xps-13-9360-laptop

The last thing that hasn’t changed is the ports and this is kind of good thing because the port selection is always good. There’s an SD card slot, 2 USB-A’s and a Thunderbolt 3 but the things that I don’t love the Thunderbolt 3 port yet again only uses 2 PCIe lanes. So, if you’re running an external GPU you’re not getting the full bandwidth which on a laptop like this running a 4 Core KabyLake-R chip. I would be nice to have 4 lanes PCIe for an external GPU. I understand, it’s a very limited of people that would actually use it for that but it would have been nice.

The other thing is that the power connection still uses a barrel plug. It would have been really nice to see a USB-C port there. This thing can easily handle it, 45-watt adapter, plug it in USB-C, universal charging, everybody wins except it would have cost a little bit more them to make.

 

Performance & Memory: –

Let’s talk about the things that have changed and the big thing is performance, Kaby Lake-R processors, the 8th Generation CPUs are phenomenal. The jump that you get from the 7th gen stuff to the 8th gen CPUs, we’re talking like a 50 to 60% increase in multi-core performance and depending what you do or what apps you use. That can be a huge difference in your workflow, and it’s crazy because of the 5th to the 6th to the 7th generation CPUs.

I mean those always like incremental increases like we’re talking 10 – 15% each year and the XPS 13 increases 50 to 60%. It’s huge and it comes from core count, not every application can take advantage of multi-core like this. But you’ll notice a significant increase in speed for processor intensive stuff.

This is running the Intel UHD Graphics 620 which is a little bit of an improvement over the previous generation, the HD 620 and the 8GB of RAM with 256GB PCIe HDD. If you’re trying to play games, you’re still not gonna have a great time. You’re gonna be able to play some really lightweight titles with low resolution and low graphics settings. But if you want to play something even moderately demanding it’s not gonna be good.

The external GPU like I mentioned before you’re only getting two lanes PCIe I plugged up a Razer Core to this. It does work, it does connect but it’s not designed for gaming and that’s the other thing. I noticed the XPS 13 doesn’t have a high-performance mode. One thing to keep in mind though, this is a 15 watt CPU. Even though it’s Quad-Core, there are Quad Core gaming laptops out there. That is 45 watt CPU such as triple the power consumption.

So, you’re not gonna be able to get the same kind performance on this Quad Core XPS 13 laptop. But I’ll say this, the Dell XPS 13, the 8th generation CPU is such a big improvement over the previous generation. That doesn’t make sense for anyone to purchase the 7th gen CPUs it’s just too much of a performance difference, and the battery life has improved a little bit.

 

Battery: –

During my testing browsing the web, watching some videos on this thing. I never once worried about draining the battery and I was able easily to make it through an 11 to 12 hours without having to plug this thing in to charge and if you’re even lighter user someone who just occasionally browses the web and checks email. I think you can make it 2 days on this battery. So, battery life is great.

 

Conclusion: –

So, let’s take a step back and kind of wrap things up, it’s got great build quality really solid performance and the battery life on the XPS 13 is phenomenal and over my days of testing, I really enjoyed using this laptop.

 

 

Indian Buyers Buy Now Price
Dell XPS 13 2017 Coming Soon Rs 86,990
International Buyers
Dell XPS 13 2017 Dell XPS 13 2017 buy now @amazon $ 899.00

SPECs: –

 

NETWORK

&

CONNECTIVITY

Killer 1535 802.11ac 2×2 WiFi and Bluetooth v4.1
BODY (0.33-0.6) x  11.98 x 7.88-inch, Weight- 1.2kg
DISPLAY 13.3-inch FHD AG (1920 x 1080), Infinity edge display
CAMERA Widescreen HD 720p webcam with dual array digital microphones
PROCESSOR OS- Windows 10 Home Plus Single Language, English

CPU- 7th Gen. Intel Core i5-7200U Processor (3M Cache, Up to 3.1GHz)

GPU- Intel HD Graphics 620

MEMORY RAM- 8GB LPDDR3 1866MHz

HDD- 256GB PCIe Solid State Drive

PORTS
  • 2 USB 3.0 –  1 w/ PowerShare
  • 1 SD Card Reader
  • 1 headset jack & Noble lock slot
  • 1 Thunderbolt 3 (2 lanes of PCI Express Gen 3) Supports: Power in / PowerShare, Thunderbolt 3, USB 3.1 Gen 2, VGA, HDMI, Ethernet and USB-A via Dell adapter
  • Dual ChannelLPDDR3 SDRAM (Onboard)
SECURITY McAfee LiveSafe 12 months subscription
SOUND Stereo Speakers professionally tuned with Waves MaxxAudio Pro

1W x 2 = 2W total

POWER

60Whr battery built-in

45W AC adapter

 

  • DELL XPS 13 20174.2

Here in this Review, I have described Dell XPS 13 2017 Review, Full Specifications, Best Price, and Conclusion.

4.2Overall Score